Book one Chapter two

Chapter two: Squid + Blackwood= Room mate

 

I drove back home, and smiled, Mrs. Hudson’s scowl not dowering my mood. “You weren’t at school today!”

“I got bored.”

“You can’t just leave.”

“I had the best day ever.”

“Robin!”

“I met the cutest girl, made my first friend, may get a job at the NYPD, and its just great” I said, taking her hands, smiling. “Today actually turned out great. Thanks, Mrs. Hudson” Unsure of what happened, Mrs. Hudson froze, and didn’t move again until I had gotten to my room. I smiled, exhausted, laughing. What a good day…

 

The next day, I went to school just to see Cody. He was getting picked on by fatso, and this time, I took in his appearance. He was only a bit chubby- unlike the brit, who was a toothpick- and had been in the sun too long, and hadn’t taken a shower in a while. Obviously he didn’t go to the school because  he wasn’t in the uniform, and the school wouldn’t allow a kid to be in such bad shape. He had cruel black eyes and messy, nasty, greasy dark blonde hair. Clearly he was an abused child.

“Hey, fatty!” I shouted, getting off my bike. He looked over, and snarled at me. Cody was on the floor, clutching his gut, crying. “Pick on someone who is READY to fight.” He glared, and spat in the dirt.

“Yo betta ruhn, huglee” he growled.

“Aw, don’t call yourself that. Remember, fat is fabulous” I replied. Lame, but I had to get him upset. He’d come at me with a feral left punch- his dominant hand- and I could counter that by thrusting an open palm at his elbow. THEN he would try and attack me by trying to punch my gut with his right arm, which I could deflect by flipping over him, using his arm to give me the extra push. Finally, I could get behind him, and judo flip him.

“Yo gonna pay!” He did exactly what I expected, only, faster. I did manage, but by the end, I couldn’t flip him over my shoulder- too fat- so I made due with just punching the left side of his ribs, sending him into a fit of pain. I reached down to Cody, sighing in relief.

“Are you okay?” I asked him. He nodded, fixing his glasses, which had broken.

“Had him on the ropes” he wheezed, pulling himself up with my hand. I smirked.

“Of course you did” I said, smiling. “You actually did pretty well. I mean, he is a tough guy… Looks like you took a lot of punches before you went down” I said. He shook his head.

“No, I suck, and you know it” he sighed. “But, I did stand my ground for a bit.” I smiled at him.

“Cody, want to know something cool about me?” I asked.

“What?” he asked, his curiosity peaked.

“If I think something sucks or is weak, I don’t bother with it” I told him, grinning. He smiled.

“Ah, I feel so stupid” he chuckled. I shook my head.

“Cody, I watched you answer almost every question in class yesterday! You’re a genius!” I replied, smiling. He seemed to take that with great satisfaction.

“Thanks, Robin, that means a lot coming from a Holmes” he chuckled, fixing his hair. I laughed, and then the bell rang.

“So… Class…” He sighed.

“I don’t really want to go today,” Cody sighed, grabbing his books off the floor, “but I have to.” I smiled at him, tapping him.

“No, you don’t. I’m going to the NYPD today, so, if you want to join me, you can” I replied. “I only came today to talk to you.” He blushed.

“R- Really?” he asked.

“Well, yeah. Aren’t we friends? And isn’t that what friends do?” I replied, grinning. He was flattered, and nodded.

“I- I think- Well, yeah… You consider me a friend?” I laughed.

“Of course! After all, you helped me out yesterday, figuring school out” I replied. “I mean, I’m not too good at this sort of thing, but I think thats what makes us friends.” He nodded.

“Wh- Why thank you” he stuttered, books all in his backpack. “This- This is so cool! Friends with a Holmes. This is great!” he exclaimed, smiling. I smirked at him, and got back on my bike, and extended a hand.

“So, you wanna come?” he thought, biting his lip. “If you don’t want to, its okay. I’ll come and see you at lunch or something” I reassured. He sighed, taking my hand.

“I guess… Man, I’ve never disobeyed rules before” he chuckled to himself. I winced.

“Oof. Yeah, you may do a lot of that, hanging out with me” I admitted.

“Well, you know” he sighed, looking around, as if someone might try and stop him. “Might as well.” I gave him my helmet, and smiled.

“You might want to hold on” I said, revving up the engine.

“I’m good” he replied, and then when I actually started going fast he latched on, crushing me. I laughed at him, speeding down the freeway.

“You okay back there?”

“Yep!” No, he meant to say, I’m freaking out. I laughed, and decided to slow down just a bit.

“You sure?” His grip loosened just a bit.

“Yeah” he answered, sighing. Of course, this isn’t what he really felt. He was freaked out.

“Okay, we’re almost there.” I kept driving, Cody’s arms tightening around my waist. I skidded to a halt in the parking space, Cody’s nails digging into my side. “Okay, time to let go.” He loosened his grip, slowly getting off the bike as he trembled.

“Wow… Wow… Wow…”

“Its okay if you’re a bit freaked out” I said, getting off and patching everything up, locking the bike so that nobody would steal it.

“Okay, well, I’m freaked out” he said, taking off the helmet, sweating. “That was way scary.” I laughed, walking towards the doors of the precinct.

“Well, sorry” I chuckled.

“Hey! Robin!” Hazel called. I turned around, and smiled, the girl walking towards us. Cody looked at me, confused.

“She another friend?” he asked, smiling.

“Yeah. Hazel, this is Cody Blackwood. Cody, this is Hazel Moriarty” I said, smiling. Cody bristled.

“Shouldn’t you two hate one another?” he asked.

“No way! The Holmes family is amazing! I mean, my family brought his family so much trouble that I just want to hang out and get to know them. I want to create a peace, in a sense” Hazel explained.

“She means that she likes me, is sorry for all the trouble, and is glad we met yesterday” I explained, and Cody nodded.

“Okay, cool” he said, smiling. He extended a hand, which she gladly shook.

“So, Blackwood, what brings you here?” Hazel asked as we walked in.

“Oh, I’m with Robin” he said. I smiled.

“Cody is another friend of mine” I explained. “So, I asked if he wanted to join me today.” She nodded, grinning.

“Well, if he is to get access to the files, he’ll need a pass” she said, walking up to the front desk. “Question is, do you have the stomach for it?” Cody looked at me, and sighed.

“Well, what else am I gonna do?” he sighed. She nodded, and got him a pass, as well as one for herself, and one for me so that I wouldn’t get arrested again.

“So, there is this case file,” Hazel began, passing me a brown folder, “but the police almost figured that one out. Then there is this case, which doesn’t have anything too bad. I mean, nobody died, but nobody knows about what’s happening, either. Its a chinese pub where men go to gamble, and people have been going missing lately.” Cody nodded.

“Okay, so what are we supposed to do?” he asked. I smiled.

“Well, where is it?” I asked. Hazel gave me a stern smirk, shaking her head.

“NO, we’re staying here” she said. I opened it, and saw that is was in Chinatown- duh- on the far Eastern end.

“Oops, sorry, I need to grab some herbs to make a this great tea for Mrs. Hudson. Chow!” I said, taking the file as well as Cody’s wrist.

“Wait, wha?” Cody asked, Hazel catching on.

“Hey! You can’t go there!” she protested as I bolted out the door. “Robin!”

“Get on!” I shouted excitedly, jumping on my bike. Cody hopped on, pulling the helmet over his head as Hazel ran out in her heels. “Guys!” I drove out, laughing.

“Ah, this is gonna be SO fun!” I exclaimed, laughing as I drove down.

“Wait a sec!” Hazel protested, grabbing something… A skateboard? She had no chance of- Oh crap… I forgot. She was a Moriarty. Moriartys are genius’. She jumped on the board, and it actually kept up with my motorcycle.

“Wow thats cool!” Cody exclaimed. I sighed.

“Drats…”

“Robin, lets just stay at the precinct! You don’t need to go to the crime scene itself!” she said as we stopped at a red light. Then it beeped.

“Green means go!”

 

I managed to get Hazel to side with me and join us at the pub in Chinatown, and I smiled, laughing. “I knew that you’d give in” I chuckled.

“Shut up” she sighed, glaring at me with a smirk. “I’m just here to babysit you.” Cody sighed.

“Robin, maybe this is a bit too much?” he asked as I grabbed some herbs.

“Oh, come on…” Okay, maybe. “Look, I won’t do anything too rash, I promise” I said, and he nodded.

“Okay…” He didn’t like this… I turned to him, and smiled.

“Cody, its okay if you’re uncomfortable. If you really don’t like it, we can go, and I’ll just come back later” I reassured.

“But that means you’d be alone” he protested.

“Yeah, but it doesn’t matter. If you don’t like it, you don’t need to stay here” I replied. He shook his head.

“Nah, I might as well” he replied, smiling sheepishly. Hazel looked him over, and leaned in close to me.

“He doesn’t have the stomach for it. Look, just get out of here” she whispered to me. I nodded.

“Look, Cody, maybe you’re right” I sighed. “Maybe we should just go home, okay?” I asked. He shook his head.

“I can do it, its okay” he reassured, sighing. And then came the giant squid that Hazel ordered to help freak the kid out, and Cody fainted. I sighed, glaring at her.

“Really?”

“He wasn’t going to last, and you know it. The fact he fainted only proves it. He wouldn’t have lasted in a pub with blood and drunk guys everywhere” she replied. I nodded, and sighed.

“How are we going to get him back home?” I asked. She sighed.

“I’ll help you get him on your bike” she answered, sighing. “And then I’ll see where he lives.” I shook my head, smiling.

“I know where he lives, its okay” I told her, smiling. “I think I’ll take him to the house and work on the case file over there.” She nodded, and helped me carry Cody off to the bike again.

“I’m waiting.”

“For?”

“For a ‘gee, thanks for helping me make it so my friend wouldn’t have passed out in front of tons of drunk men who could have killed him in a second’” she said, smirking.

“Hey, I’d have figured it out.”

“I bet.”

“You realize I am the worst friend ever right now, right? I’ve only known him two days” I told her. She smiled.

“Great!” she exclaimed. “Maybe then you’ll figure out that you can’t just rush off to random places with people who can’t handle stuff like you or me!”

“Oh, please. I’m a Holmes. We’re too thick to do anything but” I replied.

“Moron.”

“Bloody brat.”

“Annoying.”

“Mean.”

“Stupid.”

“Silly.”

“Typical teenage boy.”

“Girly girl.”

 

I went to Cody’s house with a jacked up face, helping drag Cody to his front door. He wasn’t light, but he wasn’t heavy, either. A woman opened the door with blue eyes and brown hair, wearing an apron, clearly making dinner.

“Did he skip school?” she asked. I winced.

“Yeah, that may be my fault” I answered. Most parents would be really angry, screaming and stuff. This parent?

“Oh thank God! My perfect son finally screwed up! Its a blessing!” she exclaimed, laughing and clapping.

“Uh, huh?” I asked as she walked me inside.

“Lay him there, would you?” she asked, pointing at the couch. I lay him down as she grabbed a wet rag.

“You’re happy he skipped?” I asked. She nodded eagerly.

“Oh, my son always was FAR too good! This for me is a blessing! Please, sit, sit!” she answered, setting the rag on Cody’s forehead.

“I don’t understand” I said, and she smiled.

“We’re the Blackwoods, and the Blackwoods are supposed to be mischievous and horrible, and while we’re smart, we’re still tough and fight back. Cody doesn’t realize that. He takes the punches, but he doesn’t fight back. He is being WAY too good” she explained.

“I’m a Holmes, you know that, right?” She clapped her hands.

“Great! You’ll get him into lots of trouble then!” she said, laughing. What a messed up lady. I felt my jaw drop. “Well, let me explain in finer detail. Cody is going to be a detective when he grows up” she continued, “but he can’t handle seeing dead stuff. Or bloody stuff… Or anything remotely horrifying. So, hanging with you will help him out a bit. I don’t want him in school because he already knows all of the stuff they’re teaching him, its a waste.” I nodded.

“And you think exposing him to a dangerous situation and my methods will coax him out of his mental box?” I asked.

“Yes. Would you mind?” she asked. I looked at Cody, and sighed.

“No, I wouldn’t… But I will not put him in direct danger” I answered. She smiled at me.

“Okay, good. Now, I’m going to make some dinner. Why not stay for a bit?” she asked.

“May I call my housekeeper and invite her over?”

“But of course!”

“ROBIN!” Mrs. Hudson hissed, running through the door. “You skipped?! Again?!”

“Mrs. Hudson, I can’t stand school” I answered. “Anyway, we’re eating dinner with the Blackwoods tonight.” She sighed, nodding. Cody was up and walking, trying to help around.

“Go away! Play video games or something!” his mother sighed. “Oh, and I am Marian, Mrs. Hudson, nice to meet you.” Mrs. Hudson nodded, and smiled.

“Thank you for watching Robin, deary, I know how much of a burden he can be” Mrs. Hudson said.

“Oh, not at all! Actually, I may be doubling your load” Mary said, laughing.

“Huh?”

“I want to ship Cody over to live with you” Mary said. Cody- who had been filling up glasses of water- dropped a glass, and froze.

“Are you serious?”

“Yes!” Mary said.

“I don’t know if I can do that” Mrs. Hudson chuckled. “I can barely pay for this one.” Mary smiled back.

“Oh, I’d pay for Cody, he’d just be living with you” she answered. “Of course, I’d want to see my baby once every week.”

“Do I have no say in this?” Cody asked. I sighed.

“Sorry, Cody, but I may have put you in an awkward position” I admitted. “But, we can hang out more.” He sighed.

“I’m such a weakling, passing out like that. Probably why she wants me gone.”

“No, you’re just not used to this” I answered. “And she wants you gone so you can get a deeper understanding of detective work. You’ll need to get used to dead stuff.” He nodded.

“Okay… Can I see that file?” he asked. I gave it to him, and we studied it together as the woman made a plan on how to support Cody and I.

“I don’t get this” I sighed. “Its so ridiculous. In order to figure this out, I need to be at the scene of the crime.” He nodded.

“Actually, this makes a lot of sense” Cody said. I watched him, confused. “I mean, look at this photo” he said, sliding one over.

“See? That sign on the wall?” he asked. I nodded.

“Okay?”

“Zǒuchū bùxìng hūnyīn de” Cody said. I wrinkled my nose.

“I don’t speak chinese” I told him. He sighed.

“It means ‘Way out of unhappy marriage’” he explained. “In other words, the men are disappearing because they want to. Thats why there are no corpses or anything” he said, smiling. I watched him, a newfound respect latching itself to Cody’s image. He was a genius.

“You speak chinese?”

“Bù, wǒ bù huì shuō zhōngguó huà” he chuckled, smiling at me smugly.

“I have no clue what you said, but cool” I said, smiling. “Cody, thats freakin awesome!”

“You think so?”

“Yeah! What’d you say?”

“I said ‘No, I don’t speak chinese,’ so that I could just use sarcasm” Cody said, ruffling his hair.

“Dude! Thats freakin awesome!” I exclaimed, laughing.

“Boys, dinner!” Mary called, smiling in on us.

“Sure, after we call in a tip” I replied, grabbing my phone. “Cody, that was so cool!” He flushed.

“Its not all that cool” he grumbled.

“You just solved your first case! And you weren’t even at the scene!” I replied.

“Hello?” I had called Hazel.

“I win! Cody figured it out- the case- all on his own. Ha” I teased, laughing at her. She seemed to be annoyed.

“You suck.”

“I’m awesome!”

“Want to meet again with Cody at the precinct?” she asked.

“Sure. See you then, I’ll give you the facts tomorrow.”

“Shouldn’t we tell the cops now?” Cody asked.

“Nah” I replied, smiling at him. “Your mom made pizza! Lets eat!” I replied, laughing.

“Uh, okay” he said, smirking. “Thanks.” I smiled at him, far too happy.

“No, thank you. Now, c’mon, that pizza won’t eat itself!”

 

Cody went to my house, bags all packed, and looked around.

“Where is my room?” he asked. I sighed.

“Oh, you can take mine for now” I replied. “I’ll sleep on the floor.”

“But its your bed!”

“And? I’ll be fine, get settled” I replied, smiling at him. Mrs. Hudson sighed, and went to her room. “Any way, I’ll be working a bit more on fighting in the basement, so I may not even sleep at all.”

“Oh… Okay” Cody sighed.

“You get some rest, I’ll see you in the morning and we can get a new case” I said, smiling at him.

“Okay… Thanks, Holmes. See you in the morning.”

Leave a Reply

